Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Greetings

Greetings

This topic has 13 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 9 years, 2 months ago by Avatarmadjak30.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    ImGolden
    Participant

Well, I am supposed to post here because I don’t want to lurk…
    I am a student in Salt Lake City, UT that is considering the purchase of my first Motorcycle.
    So, I might as well ask my newbie questions here..
    During my initial research into my first bike a friend suggested a Kawasaki Conours. I love traveling long distances on two wheels and my favorite travels have all been self supported bicycle trips. I like the Concours because it seems like it would be nice to commute to work (I will be moving to San Diego this year) and on the weekends throw some bags on and hit the road. I also like that they are inexpensive and from my understanding, reliable.
    However, they have 1000cc engines and I am concerned that due to my size (6’1″ 150lbs) and lack of experience it may be too much displacement for me.
    I know my limits and drive/ride conservatively, can I pull something like this off?
    I don’t really care how it looks or how fast it is, and the ninja 250r and 500s seem nice but I doubt an 8hr day on a Ninja would be a pleasurable experience….
    I really appreciate everyone’s wisdom on this.
    Sam

madjak30
    Participant