Hyosung GT250R Review

When it comes to beginner motorcycles, most of them have a general 'look' to them that gives them away as being not as powerful as their 600cc+ cousins. One company that is looking to change that in an amazing way is Hyosung with their sleek and modern looking 125cc and 250cc motorcycles. The Hyosung GT250R looks like the beautiful offspring from Suzuki GSXR and a Ducati 748. The only thing that gives away its displacement is the 250R sticker on the side fairing, and by the styling you may think that's a misprint!!

The GT250R is powered by a strong and powerful two-cylinder, V-twin DOHC eight-valve engine, 249 cc engine. The design of the V-twin means that it will give you more low range torque than you would get with an I-4 engineered engine. That translates to more usable power for the street, and it also means you don't need to rev to red line before you feel the bike start to pull. This is the IDEAL engine configuration for a new rider to have in my opinion, but I am very partial to V-twins myself, I find them to be very practical.

We can talk about the engine on this bike for a while, but the thing that sets it apart is the styling. This motorcycle has some of the sweetest styling of any motorcycle I've seen, that includes 250's, 500's, 600's, and Liter Bikes!! It almost looks like a cross between a Honda VFR, a Suzuki GSXR and a Ducati; and if you ask me thats a brilliant combination. The modern styling doesn't just show itself with the bodywork, the instrument cluster is also full of modern equipment. It's nice to see a 250cc motorcycle with a Digital Speedometer for a change, yet to keep the analog tachometer which is much easier to read compared to a digital one.

One thing that can't be overlooked is the headlight of this motorcycle. Its reminiscent of recent Ducati street bikes with its vertical lined bulbs, yet it does this while maintaining its own originality. Frankly the GT250R is a breath of fresh air for the 250 class, most motorcycles of this type are hold overs from the 80's with only slight upgrades to mechanical components. This leaves them to look a little dated to say the least, yet the GT250R is definitely a modern looking bike.

The one caveat of Hyosung is they are a relatively new company, and have yet to prove themselves in the real world. This has led them to redesign their motorcycles nearly every year as they get new rider and dealer input. Chances are if you don't like some particular feature of the current crop of GT250R's, in a year or so they will have dramatically changed it to make it an even more capable motorcycle.

Pros:

  • One of the best looking motorcycles in its class.
  • V-twin engine delivers usable power for a new rider.
  • Modern instrument cluster includes a digital speedometer.

Cons:

  • Newer company, reliability hasn't been tested.
  • More expensive than the Kawasaki Ninja 250R
  • Fully faired, so expensive to replace fairings if crashed.

Specs:

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • Engine: 4 stroke, air/oil-cooled
  • Displacement: 249cc
  • Horsepower: 30 hp @ 10,500 rpm
  • Ignition: Electric start
  • Transmission: 5-speed
  • Seat Height:30.7 in.
  • Fuel Capacity: 4.5 Gal

Comments

Well I'm no expert but now with just over 1100 miles on it all is good. The fuel filter started leaking at 200 miles and I replaced it with an old VW bug higher flow filter. After the break in and first oil change it now will go about 95 on the speedo and I'm averaging 60mpg on a 50 mile commute that is mostly two lane highway at 65-70 mph in Northern Ca on Highway 128. Without suspension adjustment it handles well but the Shinko tires are nearly impossible to break in and even after break in still start to chatter and skid when pushed much past legal limits. Anyone that is looking to get more out of it needs to replace them asap. Also I'd have to say the rear spring does not have a progressive feel at all - linear travel to bottoming. Even after increasing the adjustment it still has the same problem just takes longer. The forks are a bit soft for my size and speed of riding but its not my R1 so what can I say.

The bar / seat configuation is fairly uncomfortable even for my 6 ft 200lb frame and anyone shorter will have a hard time reaching the controls with ease. I moved the forks all the way down and level with the triple tree and this helped in two areas. First the forward lean angle was rather severe and caused my hands to numb within 20 miles this change made a good difference. Also I didn't realize when I did it but the minor weight / angle change to the frame with the extra minimal wheelbase did make a noticable difference in handling. Before the bike was twitchy and unsettled when pushed and now it settles much better and holds a line quite well.

There is a little buz and vibration through both the pegs and bars from 25-55mph past this is mellows out. Wind protection is interesting as the winshield is angled to flow right up under the chin of my helmet - causing occasional bugs etc to fly in. Any little lip on the end would solve this.

Overall its exactly what I thought - decent cheap transportation that adds a great deal of fun to my commute. For the price I'd take it anyday over anything else available in the entry commuter category and or under the $5000.00 mark for that matter. The styling is very modern and leaves other riders everywhere I go asking "what is that"?

For a biginner it would be fun but I'd recommend the Comet to start on as it will be much easier to repair after the inevitable first few drops. Parts are a little hard to find and mods harder.

As for insurance - $80 a year from Mcgraw for liability, not bad at all.

That's a really great add on to the review matt, thank you very much! 80 bucks a year is SUPER cheap for insurance, what a great deal!

I'm personally in the hunt for a beginner's bike. I'm 5' 2" and 116lbs. A 250 is the only bike that I've found that I can reach the ground. Hyosung may not have the name recognition as Kawasaki does, but I'm willing to give them a chance. The only thing that's making me lean towards Hyosung is the body styling. The Ninja may perform a little better, but with the aftermarket parts from www.tulsacyclesupply.com and www.fresnomotorsports.com, Kawasaki has some competition. I can see Hyosung as a contender in the next 5yrs.

i've got the same bike, and would say i'm the same height, but i'm on my tippy toes, which is a real pain, when pushing it back, did u over come this problem, cause i'm considering selling it for that reason? thanks.

just get offf & push it

G'Day from Australia.
I sold my Yamaha XT250 (Yamaha Serow in US) and purchased a GT250R 3 weeks ago and I already completed 1200 km on it and I got its service service done @ 1000km mark. I am 5ft 9 and at first I thought this 250 is the perfect size for me. I absolutley love the bike. But I would not recommend to an absolute beginner - person with no previous motorbike experience. I believe the drawback for a beginner is a-) its weight (Dry 407 lbs and 457 lbs with fuel & oil). b-) seating positon ; It would be very difficult for a learner to gain cofidence in basic manuevers such as a figure 8, 90 degree turns, slow riding, gear changing etc.on this bike.
On the other hand I could say that it is a perfect starter sportsbike.

My biggest concer is the numbness you mentioned on the hands, particularly left hand. The clutch lever when I first purchased was very stiff and at its 1000km service the dealer softened the lever - dunno how. The clutch lever is just fine now but the numbness is still killing me. I read your comments to find that someone else out there have suffered the same issue. It is due to the position of the handlebars, which gives the bike the real feeling of a sports bike. I try to understand how you made the adjustments to the forks as you defined in your message, because there is actually no explanation in Hyosung owners manual regarding adjustments to the forks, or rear suspension for that matter.Would you be able to inform how I could adjust the forks to have a similar effect. If I can not manage to this I will be looking at handle bar raisers to achieve more comfartable riding position, which could be very costly. Thanks in advance - Jack

Aussie here I purchased the gt250r about 4 weeks ago, I havent ridden a bike for over 20yrs and only ever rode trail bikes. I have had no issues with my bike I have done 2000km's on it, use it to commute 120km per day. I love the feel of the bike and the weight is good for me. The only issue I have is my legs ache a bit and i become quite stif legged after riding the 60kms each way. Im 5'8 and 88kg so its not that Im to big for the bike, I will keep this for a about a yr and maybe still go with Hyosung on my upgrade to a 650, maybe!

G'day. Just rolled out of the Australian citizenship mint.

Recommend this motorcycle for anyone that just loves its power, styling, handling and if you want to save some A$ over a Honda/Suzuki. The engine is SV650 anyways. If you need the FI go for the SV650...I do not do rash driving; so this carb restricted 33HP Hysoung 650 suits me, in so far, to the T. But hey, just go suit urselves...even with the 650cc newer options from Japs, but the Koreans are excellent on prices. Where else would you get a 650 for below 6 or 7 grand A$? The new Honda CB400 inline is more dearer than the Hyosung 650.

Maybe Hyosung should/would launch their street nakeds with FI options.

Great bike 650 despite its learner restrictions 33HP (standard carbs)on gives me fuel efficiency of 23kmpl...get the carbs changed for 81HP but fuel consumption goes up...the weight at 180kgs is fantastic for the highway.

I could easily do 150ks on the restricted hysoung. Just love my 650cc - who sez Hondas/Suzukis/other are the best?

am based in SA...mate..

A.V.Raman

G'day. Just rolled out of the Australian citizenship mint.

Recommend this motorcycle for anyone that just loves its power, styling, handling and if you want to save some A$ over a Honda/Suzuki. The engine is SV650 anyways. If you need the FI go for the SV650...I do not do rash driving; so this carb restricted 33HP Hysoung 650 suits me, in so far, to the T. But hey, just go suit urselves...even with the 650cc newer options from Japs, but the Koreans are excellent on prices. Where else would you get a 650 for below 6 or 7 grand A$? The new Honda CB400 inline is more dearer than the Hyosung 650.

Maybe Hyosung should/would launch their street nakeds with FI options.

Great bike 650 despite its learner restrictions 33HP (standard carbs)on gives me fuel efficiency of 23kmpl...get the carbs changed for 81HP but fuel consumption goes up...the weight at 180kgs is fantastic for the highway.

I could easily do 150ks on the restricted hysoung. Just love my 650cc - who sez Hondas/Suzukis/other are the best?

am based in SA...mate..

A.V.Raman

Jack, I'm 1.70m tall and I'm doing lots of kms with my GT250R. I've never experienced the hand numbness you mentioned. Try sitting as forward (i.e. as close to the petrol tank) as possible and try maintaining a "straighter" position on the bike on the bike. This should decrease the load on your hands/wrists. Yes, this position is not inline with the sporty allure of the bike but it should relieve your hand numbness. And, just for the record, shorter guys don't necessarily have a worst hand-numbness problem. That's because shorter people (like me) can rest their body against the tank thus considerably reducing the load on the hands. I hope this helps! Enjoy safe riding! Ervin

how did you get insurance for 80 dollars a year, thats awsome I ve been thinking of getting a hyosung gt 250r good or bad idea?

bad idea their service is the worse. My motorcycle has been in the shop for four months and all I get is more excuses and more run around.

well whats the problem? in most cases your dealing with unexpierenced motor cycle shops. meaning their mechanics SUCK!!! hi my name is rob coates and i own peterborough powersports . we have a full service shop and race department. weve had the pleasure of working on some of these units and found them to be a very promissing motorcycle for the future. give us a call and maybe we might be able to help determine what type of problem your having wether its your bike or the shop your dealing with. you can reach me at 1-705-742-2404 or at peterboroughpowersports@bellnet.ca

well whats the problem? in most cases your dealing with unexpierenced motor cycle shops. meaning their mechanics SUCK!!! hi my name is rob coates and i own peterborough powersports . we have a full service shop and race department. weve had the pleasure of working on some of these units and found them to be a very promissing motorcycle for the future. give us a call and maybe we might be able to help determine what type of problem your having wether its your bike or the shop your dealing with. you can reach me at 1-705-742-2404 or at peterboroughpowersports@bellnet.ca

That sounds like a problem with the service department not the bike.

Well all I have to say is I have owned both.
The ninja has been in the game longer, thus giving it more dependiblity.
However the Hyosung GT250R looks better and handles great. The ninja 250 is so thin, the wheels are super thin, and the bike is very small. It looks like a glorified scooter compared to the running with the gt250r.

900 miles on my GT250R and I agree with the secong and third paragraph. Now when i first got my bike it was missing a brake pad and all of the fairings were loose and the tool kit and manual were missing. After they said they repaired the problems. I also find the front brakes to be week and a flat spot around the 6000rpm mark. The mirros move while ridding and I get false neutrals. One day I tried starting the bike and it lurched forward, because it was in first gear. The rear tire is cracking in the tread. I had to report the dealer to the BBB because they refuse to fix the bike, and Hyosung does not respond to emails or phone calls. I am not happy with my purchase, but you get what you pay for. I will gladly pay more next time for a Suzuki, Kawasaki or Honda.
Anthony S. Resto

most of this guys problems were from poor assembly by his dealer, not quality of the bike itself.

Rear tire cracking and poor quality parts is not a dealer issue. These bikes are garbage you spend most of your time looking for aftermarket replacements. I need a battery, rear shock and i have to stiffen up the front suspension. i keep it so i can continue telling people what a POS it is and how the manufacturer does not honor there warrantee.

Aussie from melbourne. Yah, i agree with the other reply.

i had problems with my new GTR-250R when i first got it. brakes felt warped, squeeked all the time. trip computer didnt work. had a fuel leak after the first service. cracked mirrors that moved at high way speed...endless problems all the time.

gave up on the dealer service and repair people and went to another place. they heard where i bought and had the bike serviced from and said they would rebuild and service it. they took the hyosung brake pads out as the dealer had fucked them putting them in and put some softer better quality ones in, and putting the bike together properly fixed the rest of the problems.

been fantastic since. it fits my size properly, but i should prob lose some weight for the sake of the front forks. i am 6'2 and 120kg.

Motorcycles are like cars, back in the 90 I did buy my 1st 250Ninja, was awesome but 18 years later I went for the Hyosung 250, and to tell you the true, I did have more trouble with my Ninja than anything the same year I bought a Toyota Corolla and after 200 miles the transmition broke down, two weeks later engine broke down, I you known Toyota is 1 of the best brand.
Doesn't matter when something is going to be bad, will be bad doesnt matter the brand.

I am Happy with my Hyosung 250GT, I 1st glance this bike when I was in Korea 2002, and I was impress.....

G'Day from Australia as well,

I bought my GT250R last November and I have to say I have been really dissapointed with it. The number of problems I have faced with this bike has left worried everytime I hope on it for a ride. Though there have been a lot of perks with this bike, such as the great look to it, it cheap price and it basic handling. I still have to say what you pay for is what you get.

Soon after i bought I realised the bike's head light had blown, and this was realised only during a night time ride. And then more problems flared up. By the time I had taken it in for my 1st service the bike and suffered from the major problem of an total engine shut down at 120kmph. Evrytime I would go down freeways and go past the 120 mark a spring valve would vibrate so much it would shut the engine down. The next problem was a crack in the exhaust which compounded the issue that the engine was now sounding like a Harley rather than a sports bike. After that, when i drove a small bump on the road the connection of the pipe leading from the engine chamber to the exhaust popped loose, again causing the engine to die.

Above are all the problems that i can only remember but I know I have had more issues than those stated. Kind of scary ain't it? I hope all you riders out there on a hysoung do not endure these problems and if you are looking to buy a GT250R, i would not recommend 1. The quality and reliability just isn't there for this bike. I really think you are better off with a big name bike, i.e Honda. I would love to hear anyone how has had similar problems or know why this bike has had soo many problems.

I own a hyo 250R. I have put over 2500 miles on the bike with absolutely no problems. The bike handles and responds well through turns but lacks the passing power on highways. However, after market pipes can be added to the bike to get it that few extra horses that it lacks. Maybe I have gotten lucky and have gotten an exceptionally reliable bike (not built on friday or monday). Comments about the tires are correct when it comes to breaking them in but the bike is very light and the tires are not going to wear like its heavier siblings but at least they are better than the ninja's tricycle tires. I ride with a friend who has a ninja 250 and his bike does not handle near as well in the curves nor does it look as nice as the hyo. When it comes to overall power, the bikes are about equal, 100mph is about tops (unless you have a good tail wind!!). To get the best out of the bike, i would recommend a few after market goodies i.e: pipes, higher burning plugs (the factory plugs aren't that great). Also, I noticed some comments about parts problems, so far i have not had any issues other than an oil filter that had to be back ordered (5 day wait) These bikes should have a 3 yr warrenty (mine does) thats one of the reasons I bought the bike. If your hyo seems to be giving you problems then make your dealer do their job!!!!!

Also Hello from Brisbane Australia,

I would say your bike was not put together right and the final inspection was either done by a blind person or they just didn't care. Take the bike back to them and demand it be fixed as it sounds like this would be covered under warranty.

I recently purchased a 2009 GT250 Naked and so far no real problems. I notice some vibrations at low speed but unsure if that is because I am still running the engine in but besides that the tyres and brakes handle very well with no issues. This is my 1st road bike since getting my LE licience through Q-Ride here in Brisbane.

Every time I have gone out the bike has felt very steady in every thing I have ased it to do.

I prefer the Naked GT250 to the Sporty GT250R as the seating position is better on the comet for a learner rider.

I have been looking for a cheap transport for a little while. Had to sell my SV650s last year because of two mortgages and now in the name of saving gas money would like to get a cheapy bike to help with the gas $. I was really looking forward to getting this bike til I read the forum review. Yeah she's great looking from the review but once you make it your room-mate all bets are off! Sad, but there isn't any other choices all the other 250-500 look 20 years old, Brand New!!! Guess, I'll have to look for a cheap SV650s again. Probably won't make a profit like I did the last time tho, that was a hoot! MotorcycleOnline.com or similar gave the 250t gave it top honors against big name comparison and Kymco. Can't really compare reliablity from a weekend review!!

Yeah I was pretty bummed after I've read all the comments about how unreliable the bike is. It really looks like a nice bike, and I wish Honda / Kawasaki / Suzuki would make a bike that looked as good but was still a sub 500 class. Well maybe one day...

Ben

i don't know how to get a hold of one but i know honda makes cbr125s,150s, 250s(r and rr),400(r and rr), 450s, and 500s http://bikepics.com/honda/

First of all... I have read a lot of reviews both positive and negative. It appears to me that almost all of the negative issues can all be traced back to poor dealership assembly, poor bike prep, and not traced back to the GT250R itself.

As we all know, bikes come crated from the factory, and must be completely looked over, torqued properly, and assembled with the same amount of care that someone would give if it was going to be the ride, they themselves would actually ride home on. Most dealerships have staff with this kind of "ethics"... but there are some, a few... that do not even know what that word is.

The Bike has great components, modern styling, AWESOME Brakes, and superb ergo's. The tires need to be replaced as soon as your skill level graduates past the daily commuter phase and moves up to the daily commuter /go out and have a little fun phase.

In just one year the Hyosung dealership web has spread across the Country. After market upgrades, and even lowering links, can be found easily through Hyosung.

We've been asking Kawasaki for years to upgrade, and modernize their EX250's and Ex500's... but they are happy with the scoot they've got. Hyosung is starting out, but they (so far) have been the only 2500cc Manufacturer who actually has listened to the consumers. Good Job Hyosung!

Overall...
Bike weight 8.4 out of 10 Could use a slight diet
Bike Ergo's 9.0 out of 10 Good but higher bars would be
Engine for Entry level riders 7.5 our of 10
Engine for Advanced 250 Riders 5.6 out of 10 Needs liquid cooling and more mid to top end
Front Brakes 9.0 out of 10 Strong but progressive.
Rear Brakes 7.5 out of 10 Earlier models locked up when warm. (Fixed)
Overall fit and finish 7.5 out of 10 Mainly Dealership assembly and QC problems.

The Price is A++ Insurance is cheap A+++ , and the fun factor is A++++

I have to say I got this bike in CO about a month ago and have riden it everyday almost pushing 550 miles in only 4 weeks. And, I absolutely love it! The bike handles great and is perfect for a beginner or experienced rider. Compared to the new 08 ninja it looks alot better because the ninja is very thin and small in size. All the issues I have read about with the gt250r seems to be assembly issues with the dealers. The only downside to the bike is that it is a newer company, and thus I am not so sure about the engine's lifespan. However it seems to be very dependible and I always get heads turning when people see a bike that looks like a ducati! And besides, if your looking for a 250 size bike, everyone has a kawasaki ninja, including me. This bike is hot! Get yourself a Hyosung and turn heads with the GT250R.

I have been ridding my bike for a while now, I had trouble with the assembly at the dealership and I had to fight them all the way to fix it. They still have not fixed the front brakes. Hyosung was no help either, yeah they called with excitement about how they were going to help then they just stopped. Still no help. There is some thing about a company that stands behind there product especially a brand new product. I have had trouble with cars, bikes and even appliances and yes when the store, or dealer did not fix the problem the manufacture did. Hyosung does not stand behind there motorcycles because they know they are second rate. I replaced the horn on my GT250R, the mirrors and signals, I had to replace the rear tire because of tire rot, I also replaced the front one because the Yamaha dealership gave me a discount when I told them my Hyosung story. the bike has a flat spot around 8500 rpms. It also still gives many faulse neutrals. The bike even tried to start once while it was still in first. Imagine my surprise when it bucked under me. It is also hell for new drivwers to find 1st, my wife and my son said it was easier to find first on my 94 Suzuki RF900, and that is a big heavy bike. The bike still runs thank God and I have changed the oil 3 times, I used the K&N filter not the Hyosung. I do not suggest getting a Hyosung bike, let them work out the kinks and build a better product. It is nice to purchase a new bike at such a cheap price but the money you put into replacing the garbage parts they use you could have just purchased a used Honda, Yamaha, or Suzuki, and had more riding time. Save yourself the headache don’t buy a Hyosung.

I bought a hyosung 2nd hand. 2006 gt250r model. yellow with the silver frame. i'd class myself a beginner rider. it is a big bike for a 250. similar in size to a gsxr750, whom the previous owner had upgraded to. Its also a heavybike, as I notice everyday shuffling it in and out of the house, yeah my baby sleeps inside!
Fit and finish is fair, minor detailing lacking but overall good. plastics feel a little cheap, but no worse than a ***250, and a mate who has a ***250 has plastics going white already (1yr old as well). Digital instrument cluster is nice. a clock is excellent!
Top speed. I've seen 170 on the display but i think its closer to 150km/h in reality. On the stock shinkos I get a little nervous about the front wheel when cornering at moderate/high speeds. its like i don't get all the feedback that i want and it feels a little floaty. rear is a little soft at stock i feel. After an hours ride or so I feel the pressure on my hands. 178cm rider, 67kg. I find the clutch and gear actions to be excellent for a beginner, i found it very easy to ride. riding position is comfortable considering the sport seating. My only gripe are the mirrors. they are a cheap assembly and closing and opening them frequently, moving through doorways, they work themselves loose. I keep a set of allen keys in the 'boot' as part of the toolset and find myself tightening them once a week.
Looks the bomb in rl. heaps better than what else is available; cbrr, zzr, gpx, etc. Get an aftermarket can and the vtwin sounds real nice and loud.
Performance is ok. after one week you'll wish it had just a little more pep; say 20 more hp and it would be perfect. But there is plenty of performance available in a nice linear fashion. The bike is happy to pull from lower rpm/taller gears. The lowbeams are fine, but the highbeams downright suck. If you do country work you'll want better lights. I was out in the sticks on a country road scared senseless as I couldn't see a damn thing. Surely a flashlight is better than that highbeam.
of course, get yellow. its the BEST colour!

I've read everyone's horror stories and am shocked to say the least. Yes, it is an inexpensive bike but it DOES have a modern design layout and components, especially compared to the only other 250 available here, the Kawasaki 250R - which is over 20 years old. Weight wise, I don't feel any handycap compared to my old Kawi 250, maybe because the V-twin has such a nice linear torque curve. The seating position works great for me, I'm 5'7" and about 150 lbs. The stock tires are crap, I agree, and will be replaced soon. Also, I am replacing the air filter, exhaust from Bruce Fabrication, brake pads, brake lines and windsheald (see www.fresnomotorsports.com) I may also do a HID headlight conversion.
See: http://www.korider.com/forum/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=42...

I bought my red GT250R a little over a month ago from SF Moto in San Francisco, California (www.sfmoto.com). The dealer was knowledgable, friendly and I got the feeling that they stood by their product. So I decided to be an "early adopter" and took the plunge. The bike now has 400 miles on it and is coming up on it's first service. So far, so good. Nothing has fallen off or broken. The engine is loosening up nicely and I can feel the gain in power after every 60 miles or so. It's starting to emit a nice growl too. After my service, I can finally really open her up, I can't wait.

I think many of you who have had problems with your bikes are primarily due to a poor dealer and service network. The bikes are new to the US market and not all dealers are of the highest caliber. SF Moto goes over every nut and bolt and tightens everything to spec. They then test ride each bike for 10 miles before putting it in the showroom. This is something each dealer should do but I get the feeling many don't. If your bike is loosing parts and missing brake pads and such - its the dealer, not the manufacturer. Still, Hyosung needs to be a little more selective as to whom they grant dealer status for their bikes.

Anyway, I will post another report after my first 1000 miles. Lets hope I'm still as positive as I am now.....

bought this 2nd hand in New Zealand at 1,00kms (just after 1st service)
First real ride out of town and the fuel cut out after running at 7,000rpm for more than a minute.... hmmmm. Had to choke it and give it full throttle while cranking it over for about 10seconds. Was away again, for about 5 more km.... Dealer took it and fixed it in 3 days, never had a problem since. Then the rear exhaust header pipe came away from the manifold. This was a constant problem I couldnt fix. Again, took it to the dealer, 2 days later.. fixed, never another problem. Turns out the header pipe was cut too short! urghh! Now the last problem is the clutch cable. I have been through three. I have had it for 12 months.. thats 16weeks a cable. I have figured that its the kink in the cable at the lever that is too sharp, causing cable wear/fatigue at this same point every time - ultimately resulting in failure.
These are the only issues i have had and, while a little disheartening at first, i have never looked back.
I ride it every day 25km each way to work through gridlock traffic hell. Is absolutely great in traffic and a nice torquey engine means less gear changes and more controlled speeds in traffic... and on hills.
I have found the headlight horrible at night on country roads, mainly as the full beam seems to point everywhere except in front of you.. very scary so you ride slower on low beam and its fine... bummer
I have some great roads out the back of my street that are very hilly and a real mix with a million corners of every variation imaginable (in other words a typical kiwi road) and this bike is doing all i wanted it to do - ie. teaching me how hard to push without getting me in trouble (so far). The suspension is mush, the tyres are hard, and the gears sometimes are not where you thought they were, but i love it. I have learned to ride this thing hard and it keeps coming back for more. The engine would have to be the strongest part of the bike. It really is teriffic. It thumps for a 250 and starts first time every time. I think, except for the exhaust, my bike was simply put together properly by the importer so has eliminated any real issues, and only left me with the teething pains you get with a new model at a low price. I paid NZ$6,000
I will not miss this bike however, there are a million better machines out there at twice the price but this has been a great introduction to road riding and no one ever said it didnt look good :-)

anyway, thought i would add my $0.02c as someone who has actually owned one of these things longer than 2,000km... at the end of the day you get what you pay for, sure, but i dont have $23,000 for the KTM SuperDuke 1000cc :-)

Only bike i think i would consider over the GT250R is the Honda VTR250, that thing looks pretty sweet too and has same engine output. Note that the Hyosung has 4 valves, and 4 cams, and 2 good carbs so it opens up and pulls hard right from low revs. My advice is: dont buy a Hyosung thinking it will be amazing, cos its not. It works and has a great engine (like anything in the 21st century) but it will not be completely trouble free forever... but thats part of the fun

I have read recently that this motorcycle is around $3700 US. If you have to replace the tires, headlight, mirrors, suspension, exhaust and fuel filter or carb, you end up spending as much as you would for a new Kawi. I really like the VTR250 (which Honda doesn't sell new in the US any longer). I am 5 10 280lbs and the one we were using at the training course dragged my big butt around real sweet. I wish I had it now. I also like the old Honda Hawk (naked sport bike of the 80s). If a person looks around they can find some of these older, smaller "sport bikes" second hand. All I have read here and around the net makes me nervous about the Korean and Chinese new comers. Most of the motors are poorly manufactured knockoffs of Japanese motors. The dealer network doesn't seem to shiny either. Try finding older second hand proven motorcycles. Unless, you are a mechanic/machinist.

Jay T.

www.ridesafe.today.com

Experience with the Hyosung GT250R 2007

I have now had my 2007 GRT250R for over 7000 miles, including intense all-weather city and highway riding, sport rides in the hills of Marin and the Santa Cruz mountains, several fast 100+ mile highway trips, and a 2200 mile loop from San Francisco to Seattle and back. What do I think? An overwhelming positive experience...read on for details, or skip to the last few paragraphs for info on the potentially big warantee issue on tanks on 07 CA bikes.

My motorcycle experience was very limited before purchasing the Hyosung—it consisted of a single botched attempt at shifting a dirtbike that left me confused after crashing into my friend’s garage, year and a half of hardcore scooter riding in all weather, including one long trip to Monterey, where I used my body as a kite to help catch a breeze and speed me along at (almost) the speed of traffic, and one weekend spent on my friend’s Ninja 250.

The Hyosung has a much bigger feel than the Ninja, and the handling is more assured—the large tank allows you to hold your seat and really involve your whole body in steering the bike better. Of course, the position on the GT250R is much more aggressive, and although I love to do long rides on it, it is a physical challenge, especially for the neck, shoulders and low back.

I have heard people complain about the fit and finish of the bike—not to Japanese standards, I guess. The finish in my experience has not kept the bike from being noticed though, and it has started many conversations. A 250 is rare these days, and one that goes like this one does, and looks this good is special. It’s not too hard to come darn close to breaking the land speed record for 250s on a regular basis with this bike—I can cruise easily at over 80 (the darn wind dumps right onto the helmet, so the neck gets a workout though), and have hit 105. I believe there is a dealer right now preparing to take one of these down to the salt flats for an official record attempt! This little engine can go, and smoothly too!

This has been the perfect bike to learn sportbike steering and breaking technique; it feels like a bigger bike, but is forgiving. You can still feel the effect of smooth shifting and smooth handling of the throttle, but if you let off the throttle too fast, or twist too hard, you’re less likely to end up losing control, which is real nice! I personally have no need for more power—I can keep up with most bikes in the twisties, and really don’t need to be able to pop a wheelie at 80mph, but I can understand some people viewing this as a bike fit only for beginners—a step to the “real” stuff. Either way, it’s a great bike!

I’ve had only three problems with the bike so far—a few days after I bought it the fuel filter broke and leaked fuel all over. The dealern(SF Moto) said they had a bad run, and fixed it in two minutes. The second problem took a while to figure out, but is a problem with a good many of this model, I’m told. the engine kept starving after a few minutes of high-speed riding, and I’d end up on the side of the road shaking my head. After a few minutes, and the application of the choke, or opening the gas tank, it would start. The tank was not breathing. At one point I opened the tank, and could feel the sides pop out to their normal shape. This was first repaired under warrantee with a simple notch in the gasket, but as a CA resident, I didn’t think this passed emissions requirements, because on inspection, the carbon emission system was not hooked up—it was there, but the tank didn’t have the right breather tube to hook it up! After a call to the friendly folks at Hyosung USA, we uncovered a strange, and potentially large problem—some CA bikes were somehow equipped with 49 state tanks, and simply not hooked up to the emissions components! I’m not sure anybody knows how widespread this is, but my dealer found several bikes with this setup in the shop. Anyway, I have been promised a new tank as soon as the shipment arrives from South Korea, however, it seems to be taking a bit of pushing by SF Moto to get them to honor their word—everybody, check your tank if you’re in CA! don’t settle for the gasket notch! It will be nice not to have to stop every so often to open the tank and let it breath! On several occasions I’ve passed cars, only to have the bike die, and end up sitting on the side of the road as all the same cars pass me!

The only other problem involved a very simple horn failure, which was promptly replaced by the dealer. All in all, I’ve found this bike to be fun, solid and confidence inspiring. Long rides are well within this bike’s capabilities, and the two year unlimited mile warrantee makes it a great bike to ride a lot. 60mpg doesn’t hurt either!

Here’s a list of the bike’s accomplishments since I’ve had it:
101mph on the flat with a very slight headwind
105mph on a very slight downhill
650 miles in one day, 400 of it at 75 to 80mph: 58mpg
2200 mile trip to Seattle over 5 days
Highest Elevation: Crater Lake
Craziest Ride: Midnight ride back to San Francisco over the Altamont Pass with stunning headwinds and 90mph traffic. Yeah! That’ll make you feel alive…

WHY? Why would you buy a bike that you need to replace so many poor quality parts?

I have never purchased a motorcycle that we had to replace so many poor quality parts just to enjoy the ride. I replaced the mirrors, front clip-ons head lights, rear light, Suspension is crap but there is no after market. We cant get the bike to stop bottoming out. Levers were changed, tires are trash and they rotted and cracked. We also put memory foam in the seat.
How can this be called a beginners bike? If this was my first bike I would have never kept on ridding. I would have thought that motorcycle were the most un-reliable methods of uncomfortable transportation. Also the bike has to be the hardest ever to turn around. The turning radius on the GT250R is that of a 68 Lincoln Continental and your hands hit the tank.
I can do maintenance, and I understand if one, or two parts needs to be upgraded (I hate the mirrors on my B-King) but the Hyosung is ridiculous, it feels like it falls apart while you are ridding it.
If you want to spend time fixing a bike feel free to purchase a Hyosung, and you will remember this review every time you find yourself spending money to replace a part. Or you can buy a better quality bike from Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki or even Buell.

I hope my insurance agency doesn’t read these articles because if I don’t sell it soon, I am going to light this POS up and toss her of a mountain.

I'd have to say you're having extra-ordinary issues with your bike. the bike is not perfect, but I think I can safely say I've ridden many more hard miles than most on this bike, and have seen very few if any of the problems you relate. most of the reviews here speculate problems, but few have come to pass from what I've seen. Also, this bike is faster than the Ninja, hands down, and the power is more usable. I've been on a long ride with a friend of about equal weight on a Ninja, and he had trouble keeping up with me. the highway feels a lot scarier on a Ninja 250 as well. If you think the GT250R has a problem with suspension and turning radious, just try the Ninja! If the only thing that matters to you is the finish quality of the parts, go with the Ninja. if you want a bike that feels and acts like a real sport bike, go with the GT250R.

I have found that my former ninja 250 was a better ride than the hyosung. Easier to turn around and felt lighter. The Ninja is a butt ugly great riding bike with less trouble than the Hyosung could ever dream of. I was able to get the front wheel off the ground with my ninja, the hyosung could barly get out of its own way unless you hang off the rear pegs. I am glad the ninja changed its body style because i would hate to see people making the mistake of buying a hyosung.

I have to say, I love taking my hyosung to the bike night just so peope could ask about it and i could tell them the horror stories about this bike and its poor quality. Hell i even let then take it for a ride so we could disscuss all it's faults. This bike is trash and i believe so much that its trash that i use my real name when I post my comments. I want to sell it but i would not wish this POS on anyone, so i will ride it into the ground and set fire to it when it dies. Biggest waste of 4000 dollars ever.

Don't ride it into the ground, big guy! I'll buy it from ya. seriously

Perhaps you're one of the unlucky ones to have gotten a lemon. I clocked almost 2500kms with my GT250R and had absolutely no problems with it. I tested the acceleration several times up to 140kms/hr and it goes nicely without any flat spots. I haven't had a chance yet to test it above 140, but I don't normally ride that fast anyway. I rode the 250 Ninja as well and it feels like riding a glorified scooter compared to the GT250R (no offence to Ninja lovers). The GT250R has better torque at lower RPMs and it seems to keep up with highway speeds better than Ninja. In fact, I felt more comfortable, stable and safer riding the Hyosung than the Ninja. Yes, the Hyo is heavier than the Ninja but I guess this is what makes it more stable... and also the fact that a V-twin engine has inherently a lower CG than an inline twin. Not to mention that it sounds nicer and deeper and has a great induction note too. I'm not trying to put the GT250R on a pedestal. I'm only speaking out of my own experience.

Why do you go on every single hyosung owner forum, site, review, message board and trash talk? It seems if you put the tenacity you put into trash talking into getting the bike warranty repaired you wouldn't have had a problem. Plus I've heard of nor had ANY problems with Hyosung warranty issues. So I'm thinking your either a Kawasaki dealer or a lazy jerk. Get a life. Hyo's rock!

It's quite a shame that the gt250r looks so great and yet it performs so sub-par in comparison with the other 250's!! I've been jumping back and forth between what motorcycle i want to get, either a cbr or a gt250r, and upon doing a lil research and getting all the bad news, i think i'll probably go for the cbr.. I'm also a beginner rider and i want a bike with good performance, but most of all QUALITY.. quality of build and and thats fun to ride! :D

im 5"10 and 81kg's so i dont necesarily rekon im restricted to any 250 by size alone. What do you good chaps reccomend?? (whilst keeping in the 4k to 5k price range that is hehe) :) luv to get your feedack.

..if they could just combine the performance of the cbr with the looks of the gt250r, we'd have a bloody winner!!

Hello Ben and readers, just wanted to add to my original posting - the first one here. I just now replaced my tires at just under four thousand miles and it made such a huge difference I cannot believe it. The bike now out handles the engine where before the handling was simply not up to what speed the bike could muster. I used the Contiforce 110 and 150 and dropped the rear from a 70 to a 60 series for a little added acceleration, top speed is pointless. Shenkos are for the birds. I've had the starter replaced under warranty and removed the lower fairing for easy access to change the oil often. Speaking of oil I change it every 500 miles and the filter every thousand, considering it only takes 1.5 qts and lives on oil I figure this may help keep Hyosung from honoring their word on the 2 yr warranty. Also moved the forks back to their original position and just got used to them. Still getting 60 mpg nomatter how I ride and still love the little bike. Looking forward to trying the 08 Ninja 250 and may add it to the collection. What a price for an awesome little package. Have a great summer riding everyone and Ben thanks for a great site.

Hey, i'm a rider from Malaysia. From where I come from, superbikes are awfully expesive (Although the price of fuel here is relatively cheaper). The Hyosung GT 250R are rebranded under Naza Blade 250R, much more interesting name, but with the same performance, minus the digital display :-(. The price for this bike (OTR) here is nearly USD 6000. Expensive but the most affordable if compared to other imported bikes. So for this price margin, I say that this bike offers as much performance as it costs, with cheaper maintence cost than the Kawasaki ZX2R (over here). Its really good for beginner riders, not needing to shift up to 6-gear, and also for daily commuting to work, not to mention its stable ride at 140km/h, however to take it down to the freeway, honestly even some smaller displacemenet 2-stroke bike could even smoke the GT250R. I understand that it is not uncommon for some more experienced rider, (maybe) such as Anthony Resto to flame over GT250R and mark them as trashy due to its slightly below expectation performance. We would expect more with a bike with such beautiful and egoistic looks. However, beginners alike, dont be quick to strike out this bike. Its a good platform for you to jump over to 600cc in the next few years. Hope Hyosung would research more on improving the quality of this bike in the future.

---Just some small advice I gained from FnF:Tokyo Drift to carry on my spirit to ride
"Its not the ride - its the rider"

After reading all of everyone's comments, I must say that overall, it seems that most of the problems are truly due to dealership issues. Our dealership is proud to sell and service the brand. After reading all of this, I'm going to make sure that our service department does a very thorough job on each and every Hyosung 250 that we sell. Thanks guys.

what all can you do performance wise to make this bike run stronger?

I've been looking around for a 250 because of my built - 5.2, 125 lbs. I was thinking about buying the GV250 Hyosung but after all the bad reviews, I think I'll consider the Kawasaki Ninja 250.

thanks

The new Ninja 250R (2008) Blows the hyogunk out of the water. Yeah a large amount of people want to have a good looking bike, well why would you sacrifice so much in the way of performance and reliability for it! Thats just stupid. But people are stupid so what shall i think of it. nothing much do what you want but i suggest the new redesigned kawisaki its 100x better and you do npt have to worry about it falling apart on you.

Have you actually ridden a GT250R? I bet not! I bet you're one of those losers winging... and winging... calling everyone else stupid.

i own a GT250R and i can verify that it is a piece of crap, and i was stupid for buying it

I ride a 2005 GT250R. I've only been riding since Oct 2008. I've done around 13,000km in that time (Melbourne, Australia).
In that time, I've replaced the Shinko's in came with soon after I started on the bike (the tyres started developing eggs in the tread!), and have had my share of problems.

My main two things I'd like to change (will be changing next) on the bike are:
- the woeful headlight - it is USELESS at night, and while high beam is better, it is aimed too high (which is really where it should be) but is therefore impractical and illegal to use as my normal beam
- the gearing on the bike - as it doesn't have a 6th gear (I really miss that when I'm doing even 100-110, when the engine is doing ~8000+ RPM - I'm going to add an extra tooth on the front cog next time I service it

Otherwise, great bike, looks good and sounds fantastic with an after-market pipe on it. $3.5k well spent :)

1st off i'm 6'1 and 170LBS. So these bikes wernt really designed with me in mind. I also own a Yamaha 1994 FZR600 and a 1980 Honda CM400.
On that note.

i test rode both bikes and to be honest i would much rather have the GT250R. I have valid reasons not just looks.
The GT250R has a lot more bottom end power perfect for cruising around town. The Ninja on the other hand seems very sluggish until 7000 RPM while the GT250R is pulling me at 5 or 6. The Ninja is more comfortable for long rides because of the handle bar placement, but makes the bike sit more like a standard motorcyle not like a sports bike. Making it feel like you are riding a dirt bike.

i dont know if your like me, but the sound of the bike is everything to me. If it sounds like i'm riding around a honda civic missing a muffler and catalitic converter i'm going to get laughed at as well as go deaf. The GT250R has a low rumble to it with the right exhaust. in stead of it screaming down the highway at 85MPH like the Ninja. The Ninja also has more of a lose suspension. When leaning into a turn you can feel the bike squat down and when you come out of a turn you can feel the shock push you back up with a bit of a spring making it feel like you will be thrown off the bike. The swing arm and shock are not balanced on this newer model. The GT250R on the other hand handles like its big brother. There is very little difference between the GT650R and the GT250R. you can accelerate like you noramlly would on a 600 or 750 and feel it push you around the corner while it's suspension remains stiff.

Both bikes brought me up to 102 -105MPH. The digital speedometer is much easier to read and more accurate than the analog one found on the ninja.

The Ninja may have the name behind it, but then again alot of things are going down hill that have had a good name. Like Snap ON tools for example. There prices have gone up and quality went down.

I have a honest opinion that this bike will give the ninja a run for it's money if kawaski doesn't find a way to add more lower end power. The higher RPM riders don't exist in Chicago. We are looking to get power with minimal effort, Not have the engine struggle to move us.

Although this bike may look like a GSXR its not in anyway, shape, or form a GSXR. The price tag reflects that.

the name i'm posting under is a real race team based in Chicago,IL. Yes here the Ninja is $4600 out the door while the GT250R is $4,000. There are dealers for both bikes not even a mile away from each other.

Grreeat review! Thanks! I'm only 5'2 and lol only about 115 lbs. In your honest opinion.. do you think I'd be able to handle the bigger Hyosung250r as a beginner rider?

Being only 5'2", I doubt that you will comfortably be able to reach the ground. It is a large bike and is perhaps best suited for riders that are around 5'10" or taller.

them both. A ninja 250 s are harder to purchase because you can never find a dealer with one in stock. Or at least I couldn't in SoCal before I sold out on the sportbike market all together. And the Hyosung is easy to find, but nobody is really looking for them in the US. I found mine though. But not the GT. Can you pronounce GeeVee.

HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS

HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS

this summer i am looking to get a street bike,, heres my problem im only 5,1 and realy cnt find any bike to fit me well.. the only bike i could find was the hyosung gt250r that has been lowered, it fit me very well.. i am veryinterested in this bike but afta reading the pros and cons im not so sure.. this wil be my first bike also, ive riden dirtbikes but not street bike.. any sugestions on any other bike to look into?

I'd heard that the forks get squishy around 7000 miles, and sure enough, mine did. the solution is to replace the oil...or replace the forks! replacing them with the units off a 650 allows more adjustment, and the ride is great!

I'm having a lot of fun with this bike, and have over 8000 miles on it now, not perfect, but the size is better than the smaller Ninja, and I like the engine a lot.

dealer problems are another issue. if the bike is set up well, you will have some things come up, but it is a good bike!

yea i looked into the 250r ninja too i dont really like the look of the bike at all.. the 250r is alot nicer and sportier looking and i love the headlights.. i only weigh 96 pounds to wich is another issue, i sat on a 250r lowered and it felt really good i shitfted it back and fourth and it didnt feel to bad but actually riding it is prob alot diff.. so i mean there really isnt anything else out there thats nice looking and small.. do u think the bike is to heavy for beginner well beginner to a street bike?

Anyone want to sell their bike
its gonna be my first bike and really want to buy one of these

I'm just finishing up the riders course and I'm looking for a good beginner bike. One problem I have is that I'm 6'5", but I'm very skinny (210 lbs is skinny when you're this tall). This seems to be the biggest 250cc out there, but is it big enough for me? My commute to work is short (15 minutes, 20 with traffic) and I don't see myself going on any marathon rides over the weekend (probably an hour at the longest), so the leg/foot cramping issue isn't really a big deal to me.

Any input is much appreciated!

great bike! just get my GT250R 4 days ago.. never drive bike before WOW!!! and have to say one word... I just put my protective gear, turn on the engine, and went for a spin!!! (all I have learn how to move bike was on YOUTUBE WOW!!!) that's how my adventure with bikes starts :D trying to take it easy...and dont drive to quick (in fact was feeling little weird when cornering 90 degree for the first time) but I think within few months I will gain some experience...

wel I dont know how much is that in inches and feets but I am 187cm tall, and I am also kinda skinny... bike is perfec go for it dude... after 5th day I allready make nearly 500km on it.... thats only begining :D

one more thing couse I have found kinda conversion syste on the google webside:

187cm=73,6in
187 cm = 6.13517 ft

if that is any good for'ya hope it helps ;)

what about me im 5,1?

Anyone who can afford a proven and reliable Japanese bike will not even sit and consider a purchase like this. Why even RIDE a 250 in the first place, when the 600's these days are just as light and have three times the power? Quit making excuses for these junk bikes. Its plain and obvious the people who buy them are simply being too cheap to buy something of genuine engineering and quality. You can sit and attempt to justify it all day long. The quality is just NOT there. These days it is very easy to make something look more than what it truly is, especially aesthetically, while using cheap, inferior manufacturing techniques and materials. China and Korea are both EXPERT countries at doing just that, in case you haven't noticed in the last decade by their countless other crap products that so unfortunately make their way into this country. People who try to compare this crap to a tried and true and well-built design need to get a little more riding experience and own a several different bikes first.

You simply get what you pay for.

"Why even RIDE a 250 in the first place, when the 600's these days are just as light and have three times the power?"

Why even suggest a 600 that is just as light and THREE TIMES AS POWERFUL to a beginner?! Are you serious? What kind of advise is that? There's a small number of companies making 250CC bikes that come to the US for beginners, one's Kawasaki and the other is Hyosung. Honda has a few and Suzuki has a few as well - but they don't come to the US.

Have you even seen a Hyosung? Ridden one? Or are you just assuming that they're Korean and inexpensive that they're crap? Are you taking cues from others who continue to bash these bikes because they are new to the market.

I find it amazing - anything that comes out new in the market place is always bashed by people, even if it is a good product.

A little FYI buddy - Japan used to be the exact same way Korea was in manufacturing. Honda then was the the Huyndai of our time, etc.

Ok, how about this. Im a beginner rider the LAST thing i need is something that has a ton of power so i can kill myself on it. Secondly I am not getting a bike for the "power" im getting ti cause the 250's generally get 2.5 times better MPG than my car does, im juat getting it for commuting and running around not for a "full time" ride. If you gave me a choice between a BRAND NEW bike in 250 or 600+ for FREE id ask which gets the better MPG and take the one with the better MPG...remember NOT everyone wants the fastest most powerful bike out there..I sure dont..I will never test a bikes limits because I dont need nor want to.. I will just drive it around the speed limit 55-70 give or take and say 60 MPH as a average..so what do I need a 600 again for?

If it was just about the Quality of bike A vs bike B and one was clearly superior I would understand that argument against a bike...but to actually sit there and put down a entire class of bikes(the 250's) just becuase YOU dont think they are "worthy" is pretty LAME! People own and drive bikes for different reasons..I dont EVER plan on having a 600..why...becuase the 250 gets better MPG and I dont need any more "power" than the 250 has...will the 250 do the posted speed limit? and get good MPG...if so thats what I want....

I for one dont see why anyone would wantto RIDE a 600 in the first place they are just too powerful, encourage people to drive wrecklessly and over the speedlimit, get new drivers in trouble a lot and dont get as good MPG as a 250...see it works both ways...and no I dont hate 600's I was just playing devils advocate.

i was thinken bout putting an undertail exhaust on this bike do u think it good idea like sound wisee

Get a screamin demon exhaust in carbon fibre, looks really nice and the sound is beyond any other exhaust and there cheap!

I'm going for the 2008 GT250R because I've heard some great personal storys from riders I actually know in person
I found a good dealer that I've checked up on that has assembled my bike correctly, I've planned upgrades that will make economy jump, I intend to supercharge, and put pulstar ( pulstar.com ) ignition boosters on the new NGK platinum plugs, Royal Purple oil, inline highflow stainless mesh fuel filter, HID headlight, and a custom formed (by me) fiberglass lip on the windshield with graphics because I'm 6'2" and theres a bit of pressure (5'2"-5'10" sounds fine with the stock windshield, think of the hight and weight, of the people that designed this bike, take into account that they probably don't think the shocks feel inferior. Now I didn't know or even consider that the Comet GT650R front forks will slide into the GT250Rs frame, but I'll keep that in mind when the 7kMile point comes up. If you have no mechanical ability whatsoever and are unable to service your own cycle by all means whine away, but if you want a great beginner bike to learn how to work on, take on long trips and commute on, this may be a new option but it doesn't mean it's a bad one! and for cryin out loud learn to use Loktite! PLEASE use LOGIC and uncommon sense, this is a great platform to play with if you want to keep it for a while like me, and nay sayers aside I think it's very reliable after you get rid of those replaceable stock parts ( air, and oil filter, oil, and transmission fluid (I'll use Royal purple gear oil when I do that, maybe this weekend) and yes, a friend of mine in Bakersfield CA verified the emissions issues thouh they seem to also be another dealer mixup, so when you buy it do what you should anyway and take it to your nearest experienced rider friend and have them check it out to make sure it's sound as you should when you buy any bike when your a beginner)

Have fun

That road test was sponsored by Kawasaki and that GT250R wasn't given to them by Hyosung it was borrowed. Get the facts before you run your mouth.

Despite all the speculation that the GT250R is a sub-par product I'm still inclined to buy one for the summer, especially considering projected gas prices. I'm 6'00'' 220 lbs. Is this bike going to be able to pull me without too much trouble? I've ridden my friends' motorcycles for recreation but this is the first time that I'm in the market to buy one for myself, just want to make sure I get as much input as possible before making a purchase. I'm not limited in budget to the 250R, I could always go for the 650 but why spend the extra cash if I just need to go back and forth from work and to ride around town unless I need something bigger? Any thoughts or input are appreciated, thanks.

Hyosung has been around for like thirty years! Hyosung *USA* is new though. Like others have said, most of the problems are dealer prep related; Hyosung is only new to the US market, they have been in the rest of the world a lot longer.

Well said, Anonymous. I like your style.

im 5'3 and thinking of buying a bike but im not sure whether i will be able to ride this bike without droping it....
for this reason i have been told to go for a nninja 250.
any feedback is apreciated
thanks.

umm... the ninja250's and this bike are pretty comparable. They both weigh about the same and the seat height difference between the 2 is neglible. If you're worried about dropping this bike, you shouldn't really be looking at the ninja 250 either. Either the ninja 250 or this bike should be fine for you to wet your pants in.

---
If there's anything more important than my ego
around, I want it caught and shot now...

--- AFM #998 If there's anything more important than my ego around, I want it caught and shot now...

Hey from Sydney, Australia.

I think I am in a pretty good spot to compare the two bikes, having owned (and written off) an 07 GPX 250, or what you Americans call a ninja 250, and currently riding a hyosung GT250R.

The GPX was a good little bike to learn on. light, easy to find neutral and absolutely no torque. It was pretty ugly though. I bought it new for $6500. It was really bad to run in. for the first 800km I literally had a top speed of 60kmh and for the next 800km i had a top speed of 80kmh. After that I was left with a bike which was pretty much bulletproof, but a bastard to start in the cold and which the clutch always stuck when i put it into gear after leaving it parked for a little while, which made me look like an idiot in front of other bike riders. The GPX was easy to find neutral in: any time you werent moving and kicked it up one from first, you found it straight away. It was pretty ugly though, very old looking and especially since my model had stupid cholo flames up the sides. On freeways I also found it to be a bit gutless at the top end. I topped mine out at 180: I possibly could have gotten a little faster, but I was deep into the redline and had a good chance of blowing up the engine if i went any harder.

But that bike met its end when i changed lanes into the turning lane on old windsor road and failed to see a car about to turn into a driveway. im not too sure what happened, but i think in panic i locked up the front wheel, and the bike and I went sliding down the road at 80kmh. I came out ok (my jacket saved me for sure), but the bike was a write off. But I got my 15 minutes of fame because i managed to make the 9 o clock traffic report on the radio.

So with the insurance money, I bought myself a Hyosung GT250R second hand, 07 with 1380km on the clock. This bike is a lot bigger and heavier, and a bastard to park. According to the manuals, the Hyosung has about 40kg more weight to it than the GPX. after 3 weeks I have done over double that. It was obviously some dude's first bike, and he probably only rode it on weekends. judging from the wear on the tires, i ride a lot harder than him as well. i also bought it with a few scratches on either side of the faring, probably from where he dropped it in his garage or at traffic lights. this was obviously someones first bike.

This bike is cheap and you can feel that they have cut a lot of corners making it. it rattles like anything, and occaisionally decides that it doesnt want to go into neutral and you spend 20 minutes flicking it between first and second trying in vain to get it in between. the fact that it weighs 40kg more means that if you want to park on any kind of gradient you may as well forget about it. to push it up my driveway i have to get off and push from the side, which is a pain in the ass. It has no temperature gauge and the manual doesnt include any ego boosting statistics like max power output or power/torque curves.

That said, this bike has gotten me more attention from the ladies in the last 3 weeks than a year and a half with the cholo GPX.

once you get it moving, its not too bad: being a V twin, all of the power is in the mid range. i topped mine out at around 160, but i didnt want to push it too hard cos that was when it was still being run in, ill get back to you next time i get on the free way. the racing crouch and extra weight are good preparation for a bigger sports bike when you get your confidence up and get off your provisional licence. The massive rear tire (for a 250) and extra torque let you do silly things like spinning tires and maybe even get the front tire off the road if you try hard enough. the twin brake discs at the front and rear are much much better.

in terms of fuel consumption, i used to get around 340kms with 15L on the GPX, and around 14L on the Hyosung. the GPX uses a fuel reserve. while the Hyosung you just have to rely on a fuel gauge, which can change depending on what kind of a slope you are on.

That said, neither of these bikes are a Ducati 1098S, and that is reflected in the price tag. Both do an adequate job of getting you from A to B and getting your riding experience up. I would probably not recommend the Hyosung to someone with absolutely no riding experience though. Both have good points and bad points and i am not sure which i prefer.

It is also worth noting that this year kawasaki did a complete overhaul of the ninja 250 to make it look a little more sexy, trying to compete in a market where the Hyosung GT250R was the top selling 250 road bike in 2007. I have no idea what the 08 model is like, but i know a thing or two about the 88-07 models, since they are almost identical.

i also doubt that the Hyosung will last me to this time next year. i ride around 400km a week and from what i read, these things start to rattle themselves apart around 5000km.

hope i helped in your decision one way or another.

stoic

Also... the Hyosung mirrors give you a wonderful view of your elbows and need an alan key to be properly adjusted. but i still dont agree with what everyone seems to be saying about the headlights, they seem adequate to me

Hello from Seattle, WA. I have a 2005 comet 250 naked I bought in 2006. My experience with the bike is as follows: Bought it in May 2006 as a 2005 model, it was special ordered because my dealer didn't carry the 250 at the time. It was pulled out of the crate, assembled, test rode for a 8km and then sat on the showroom floor until I could make time to pick it up. I rode it to work everyday and only had 2 problems at that point, the front brakes were 50% wore by the first service but worked fine for another 6 months until I upgraded to dual discs. The voltage regulator went out 6 months after I bought it. Noticed this because the battery leaked out. Those were replaced under warranty. May of 2007 I was hit by a car on the freeway which cause $2000 of damage. The muffler, right fork, handle bar, tank, brake levers, right foot peg, tach and aftermarket windscreen were all replaced. The frame and and engine held up fine in the crash and didn't need to be tweaked. I was out of a bike for 3 months because I had to wait for parts. Being May to late July it sucked not having a bike to ride. 1 week after I got it back the battery died again but was replaced for free. Think the dealer didn't charge it the 3 months they had it. Everything else has been fine with the bike. I had a bad chain experience a couple weeks ago, but that was because I bought to cheap of a chain and it worked itself loose and then fell off the sprocket while I was driving. The front fork fluid level was only half full. I found this out when I went to put in heavier fork oil because I thought the front felt a little soft. Other than that, its easy to work on the bike. Oil changes and spark plugs are pretty simple and that is all you need to do. I have 20,000 km and I love it!The mods I've done to it include: a Screaming Demon pipe, BMC air filter, Dual front disc kit, 100/100 main jets, 22.5 pilot jets, 15T sprocket, black exhaust pipe wrap, Fly-N-Cycle windscreen, handlebar end mirrors, red LED gauge lights, a yellow H4 bulb, and a chopped fender.

http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l100/pumbaa1/IMAGE_265.jpg

I am in the market of purchasing a bike. Previous riding experence are on 125, scooters, and atv's. I will be take the riding course in July. I just want someone opinion on which would be a better purchase gt250r , the ninja 250r or something else. I have seen the 08 gt250r in person however I have not seen the ninja. I just need some input from you out there.

I am currently a sophomore at College of Charleston and I am looking to get a motorcycle that will get me around the city as well as to the beach. I have been looking at the Kawasaki Ninja 250cc and the Hyosung GT250R. I am open to other bikes, but I would like to stick to these types of body styles. I'm not looking to spend too much more money than the two of these. I am 5' 11" and 170 lbs and I have rode dirt bikes since I was 10. Any suggestions?

I am a newby to all this. I have riden motorcross bikes up to 500cc, now fancied a road bike. Offered one of these at a good price. Not sure what to do? I'm 6'0 and 80kgs. Is this to much of a bike for a begineer? Would the GV250 Aquila cruiser be more of a beginners bike? Want to use the bike for daily transport 120KM/day. HELP.....

I have had my 08 GT250R for just over a month now and I have yet to encounter any problems with this bike. All thats happened is people always come up and ask you questions about it and tell you how nice it looks. Of the few problems i have heard about people having were mostly due to poor assembly by dealers, which isn't a fair reflection on the bike itself. I am 5'11" and weigh 180lbs and it is a comfortable ride for me. I have got up to 104mph on the freeway and could have gone a bit more but decided not to, and I usually cruise at about 70 to 75 mph on the freeway commuting everyday to work (30 miles each way). If anyone genuinely wants to learn more about these bikes, hop on over to korider.com forums of which I joined and everyone was super friendly about answering my questions.

I live in Canada, does anybody bought gt250 naked or gt250r here? what dealerships are good? and are they available right now cause Kawasaki are all sold out till next april

What RPM does the engine pull at 70-80 mph? Is there any vibration at these speeds? Thanks.

greetings everyone...
i recently came into possession of a Hyosung GT250R and i have to admit that at first glance the bike is stunning, bearing a striking resemblance to a Ducati from the front.
i havent riden a bike in almost ten years so the Hyosung GT250R was a reintroduction for me to the realm of biking, again...
I have to say that power wise the V-Twin engine gives a decent ammount of power for a 250cc bike although in my opinion the new Kawasaki Ninja 250R felt more responsive and handled better too, though it has to be noted that the Ninja 250R is lighter than the Hyosung GT250R.
Handling wise i was more confident and felt better with the Kawasaki Ninja 250R than the Hyosung GT250R as the Hyosung GT250R's tyres and suspension set-up were a let down, as whenever i leaned down to manouvre through a corner the tyre's grip on the gravel was slippery and the bump and rebound rate from the suspension set-up left a lot to be desired, so much so i had to decelerate for fear of a mishap.
Riding the Hyosung GT250R was also tiring and painful after a good half an hour of riding...though i hope once i get the bike back with new tyres, reworked suspension set-up and necessary adjustments made to the forks, i hope to have a better feel and appreciation of the Hyosung GT250R...

im 17 an i brought this bike an im paying 300 a year for insurance. the only down side is it is expencive to fix, i learned the hard way by laying it down the week i got it on I4, it cost the appox 1000 to be fully restored.

Similar thing happened to myself, I think it's a rite of passage we all go through!

To go along with my previous above add, in my honest opion this bike gets 3/5 stars...

HANDLEING - is great at lower speeds like 0-50, however i have noticed lack of stability at the speed of 80+, although it is not
badd.
To extend on the stabliity factory, the rear likes the shake at appox 80.
HANDLEING SCORE = 3/5

RIDE QUALITY - Very average..Good till u hit the upper speeds, i.e around 80 then the stabiltiy is my issue.
RIDE QUALITY = 3/5

COSTS - GREAT FAIR PRICE FOR A AVG BIKE THAT LOOKS LIKE THIS. I PAYED ONLY 3900 total for everything.
Decent, must cheaper than a car, costes me about $30 a month in gas an i drive to high school then work everyday.

GUAGES - like some reviews i have had no promblems with my digital speedo YET. my bike has appox 1,400 miles on it.

OVER ALL I LOVE THE BIKE, ALTHOUGH FOR SOME THE STABILITY IS A HUGE FACTOR BUT BECUZ MY DAILY COMMUT CONSISTS OF 45 max speed limit to school this is a perfect enxpencive fit for me...
I HAVE NOT HAD THE CHANCE TO MAX OUT THE speed OF THIS BIKE BECUZ I ALMOST TOTALLED THE BIKE THE WEEK I GOT IT SHOWING OFF ON I-4 DOING 75, AND NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS RAN OFF THE ROAD BE A TRUCK MERGING ONTO THE INTERSTATE, I LAYED IT DOWN IN THE DIRT OFF THE INTERSTATE , PROB SAVING MY LIFE. aside from the 1000 damage i was lucky with one broke rib ,and just havent felt like maxing the speed yet.

Pages