Attack page?

About two or three days ago when I tried to access this site I got a warning that this site contained dangerous code and Google had deemed it an an "Attack Page." I've been accessing this site for over two years and this was the first time I had gotten any sort of warning. I was using Foxfire, and overrode the warnings. Although it did put me onto the site it didn't display properly. I tried Chrome and got on without any issues. The next day Chrome gave me a similar warning but let me override and the page displays properly, and that is what I am using at the moment.

When I did click around on the warning page I did make it to a page that told me there were "0" instances of malicious code on this site and "0" attacks reported; essentially that the site was safe but the warning comes up anyway. It gives a link to Google support to report that they should check out the site and see if the warning should be removed. Is this particular to me or are others experiencing it as well? If it isn't just me, I realize that Ben is taking a break, but is there somebody who could try to report this and get the warning removed? You would have to assume that warning, if it isn't particular to me, will scare anyone finding the site for the first time away.

I get a warning also

JtownJJA's picture

I also started getting a warning about 2 days ago. The warning comes up on my home laptop, a mac. However, I don't get the warning at all when using my work laptop, a windows PC.

------------------------
2004 Suzuki GS500F

I get it also. I think it is

eon's picture

I get it also. I think it is a firefox/google thing. If I browse on IE it is fine. Does look weird that the report page shows zero attacks.

I'm on a Mac as well. Just

I'm on a Mac as well. Just tried on a PC and using Firefox got the same warning, when I tried IE, no warning. So it seems to be browser specific rather than OS specific.

yeah google says started

stu's picture

yeah google says

started seeing this when I updated my chromium build.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 6 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-09-05, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-09-05.
Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including newwave.orge.pl/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS21844 (THEPLANET).

--/\-[ Stu ]-/\--

Ben has been working on it.

Munch's picture

Ben has been working on it. Found out what problem is but is having to track it down. May already be resolved. I just turned my alert off in FF so I dont know. Bad thing is about some automated programs is they just look for certain criterias and classify itfrom there....... wether or not it actually is a true threat.

****Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but, rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy Shit....What a ride!!!"****

Not as many posts

JtownJJA's picture

I've definitely seen the number of posts go down on the forums since this started. Not sure if it is the warning messages or the beginning of Fall and the end of summer.

------------------------
2004 Suzuki GS500F

I think you're right, Jtown

eternal05's picture

I've definitely been using the site a lot less as a result. I don't really have a reason not to, since I can access it from nearly-virus-immune devices, but I think it just has a psychological effect. Newbies who are showing up for the first time are definitely going to think twice before testing the waters.

This is he first time I've

owlie's picture

This is he first time I've been on since I saw the attack page screen back at the beginning of september. I'm getting ready to reload my system, so I said whatever...

I've missed you guys though... :)

i've been using the site a

WeaponZero's picture

i've been using the site a lot less since it started. trying to get back into it but it involves having to use IE rather than firefox which is an extra step and makes it somewhat of a hassle =P

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!! After

Ben's picture

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!! After nearly a month of working on it I have finally rid BBM of any malicious code. What a pain in the ass. It was my home computer that was compromised and they stole a bunch of my passwords. I'm taking steps to insure that won't happen again. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Ben

- Best Beginner Motorcycles Admin

I don't think it's entirely fixed.

I have no problems or warnings when accessing from home, but at work I get an "Access Denied" screen because the site has been flagged as containing viral code.

yo

Eddiepowerfm's picture

Ben you are too cool!

Rock

eternal05's picture

Thanks for getting that sorted out, Ben!

Thank you Ben!!!

JtownJJA's picture

Everyone here really appreciates the problem getting resolved. I'm usually a pretty stingy guy, but I plan to hit the donation button on the main page. I wasn't even able to get logged in from my home laptop. I had to post comments from my work laptop. Now, as I type, I'm logged in again on my mac! Hope to see lots more comments start showing up again.

------------------------
2004 Suzuki GS500F

Thanks, Ben!

owlie's picture

We appreciate you taking the time to get us going again!

Thanks Ben. What a PITA that

Thanks Ben. What a PITA that must have been to deal with. Your efforts are much appreciated.

Must be fixed, the spammers R

TrialsRider's picture

Must be fixed, the spammers R back :/
... is nice to return to Safari though :)

Nasties on board

TrialsRider's picture

Careful guys, BBM is presently virus infected, it happened earlier this week so if you use Windoze it's time to do some clean-up. ...or buy a Mac ;)

My AVG free virus software

My AVG free virus software cleaned up this site automatically in about 3 seconds, for my PC running Mozilla Firefox- I'm not sure it would work as well with Internet "Exploder".